Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’

Wow. Has it really been since March that I wrote last? I thought for sure I wrote something at the beginning of the summer. Ah, well, so it’s been a tough few months. The pandemic of course, has meant that there hasn’t been a whole lot to do in terms of entertainment. Movie and regular theatres are closed, the latter translating into no acting opportunities. That’s been frustrating as all hell. I miss it deeply.

On top of all this, I have lost several EMS colleagues, a few to the virus, some to 9/11 illness, and one of whom that was devastating. My former paramedic partner, and right arm through my years at St. Mary’s, Tony Morgan, died in July, just a few months after his wife Gwen passed from cancer. Tony died, from what we believed, was a broken heart. He and Gwen were married for over 45 years, and while he had some medical issues he was dealing with, myself, his kids, and some others feel he just couldn’t go on without her.

I cried for quite a while when I got the news. He was my first steady paramedic partner, and a great man. a big guy, with a big heart.

On the good news front, it appears as though I’m moving up on the kidney transplant list to the point where transplant will be sooner rather than later. Of course there’s still no predicting when this will happen, but I’ve accumulated enough waiting time to make it more of a reality.

There’s also another positive thing happening, but I’ll save that for another post.

Leave a comment